I See Your True Colors Shining Through.

My, my, my.

The last few weeks have been an absolute flurry of racist happenings, right?  Almost makes me dizzy!  [Dare I even call it racist.  I don’t want to be accused of playing the “race card”. o_o]

So, let’s talk about it.

I don’t even need to recap the Trayvon Martin situation.  We all know the story.  I’ll just share some links of people like The Black Snob, Tim Wise, and Sinead O’Connor whose opinions I am completely on board with.  When you get a chance, check out their perspectives. [The Black Snob especially hit the nail on the head as far as I’m concerned.]

And I am SO PROUD of social media for pushing to get this case some national exposure.  I think this was a great example of the people rallying and demanding justice.  And the powers that be responded – and hopefully justice will prevail.  Or at LEAST due process.

*kicks rocks that GZ was free to go home, unwind, eat dinner, read a good book and chill after having murdered an innocent kid*

Then, last week, some new news came about.  The Hunger Games was about to hit theaters! OMG!  It was like the next Harry Potter, Twilight type teen hero movie.  It was #1 at the box office last weekend and broke records for it’s opening weekend numbers.

Little did people know, a couple of the main characters were black girls.

*SCREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEECH!*

Wait, what? What the hell happened here?  Black people?  In the movie version of our beloved book that was for us decent white peopole?  They’re main characters?  Not the sassy black friend?  Not a maid?!

*stomps foot*

They would not stand for it!

They took to twitter to air their grievances about the casting choices.  Jezebel.com wrote couple of great articles about it here & here.

From Jezebel.com

Even though, apparently, the book described the characters as having “dark brown skin,” maybe the readers thought the writer was conveying that the girls had really nice tans or something?

*shrugs*

Oh, but that’s not all.

Have you guys heard of the amazeballs & hilarious web series The Misadventures of an Awkward Black Girl?  If not, take a break from this long post, go over there and watch a few episodes.  You will LOL all over yourself, promise.  Great stuff.  And I’m not just blowing smoke up the show’s arse.  It is genuinely a hilarious, on-point show that I can certainly relate to.  Do you know how infrequently that happens with me?!  Especially post 200o [with the exception of Girlfriends].  That almost never happens.  So to have a show where the main character is a regular black girl dealing with awkward situations that we all deal with AND be funny, well written, and well acted?

Well, after putting in a whole lot of work, producing a great web series, putting together a great marketing campaign and building a huge following, Issa Rae [the writer/producer/star of ABG] was nominated for a Shorty Award for her work.  The Shorty Awards are an an event that honors some of the best in short-form content on the web/social media.  It’s a big deal in those internet streets.

So, not only was Awkward Black Girl nominated… it WON.  Woo hoo!

*throws confetti* 

So glad to see this great series get even more recognition.  Aren’t we all?!

From xojane.com

Oh.  Guess not.

Doesn’t the Shorty Awards know that black content is inferior to white content?!  How dare you award her show over ours.   She doesn’t even play a maid.  Explain yourself, Shorty Awards.  Explain!

*stomps foot*

And, on a more local note, I just read about an incident this morning where a chick who worked at a bar on the north side went completely batshit on her facebook about how “dirty” and “ignorant” these “dirty n*ggers” are that visited her place of employment.  [She was soon fired from the joint, but whatevs.  Full story is here.]

[O_O at Andy for cosigning everything.  He just wants to date her.  “Hey you’re racist?  ME TOO!  We should totally go out!”]

Here’s my thing.

This is not surprising.  ALL of the above that I’ve talked about is nothing new.  Nothing at all.

In my humble little black girl opinion, why do I have to care?  Why does other people’s racism have to be my problem?  Be racist.  Don’t like me.  That’s your issue.  Not mine.  Kick rocks, B.

I’m actually kind of awesome.

The only thing that makes me irate about it all is the way we’re assumed to have to deal with it and how it affects our kids.  How our little black girls and boys are taught self-hate and that they are ugly and unworthy and “less-than” from the moment they are born.  That’s the shit that pisses me off.  White peoples opinions about black people have permeated society.  It’s permeated even OUR thoughts so that we believe your racism.  We hate ourselves now, too!

We’re taught growing up that we HAVE to work twice as hard to be seen as equal. [And we’re still not seen as such.]  That white doctors, lawyers, accountants, actors, agents, managers, movies, tv shows, security guards, whatever are ALL superior!

What kind of bullshit is that?

My future daughter or son should have the right to feel the same kind of freedom to be whoever he or she will be without being weighed down by YOUR racism.  He or she will have to think twice about how they are perceived or how they are treated or spoken to because of YOUR racism and prejudice.  Little black boys grow up, hit the age of 13 and are then seen as a threat.  Little black girls are seen as 2nd class citizens, unworthy of the princess treatment.

And that’s just how it is.

Why?

Actually, a small part of me enjoys seeing all of this racism come to light like this.  MAYBE now society will stop being all “we live in a post-racial society” and all “we’re all equal” and acting all “kumbaya” and all of that other PC bullshit.

It’s all bullshit.

Racism is no secret.  It’s alive and kicking.  Taking multivitamins and yoga classes.  Thriving and surviving.

Try to sweep it under the rug if you want to. Try as you might, it still reaches the surface.  It’s there.  It’s embedded in this culture.  Acknowledge your White Privilege. Maybe if people would stop trying to ignore it or act like it doesn’t exist or justify it then maybe, just maybe we can actually finally have some kind of HONEST dialogue about it.  Some kind of transparency.

Sure, you can’t sell me on an auction block anymore or hang me from a noose [legally, anyway. Maybe you can shoot me if I’m wearing a hoodie?]… it doesn’t mean racism is dead.  It’s just adjusted with the times, my friend.

Denial doesn’t make it go away.

Sometimes, I feel discriminated against, but it does not make me angry. It merely astonishes me. How can any deny themselves the pleasure of my company? It is beyond me.  – Zora Neale Hurston

[Disclaimer: I’m not saying that all white people are racist.]

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.